SO YOU NEED A 15 PASSENGER VAN

THE VAN OF MANY FACES

THE CREW FOR WHATEVER THE JOB

 

I don’t  know why it is but I never seem to have the right vans on hand when a customer calls looking for one. This is especially true when it comes to the passenger vans. So you ask why is it that I don’t you have enough?  

The main reason is that no matter how many I am allowed to order from Ford I sell them within weeks of their arrival to the dealership.The other side of the coin is that the passenger vans actually sell in like a seasonal setting. What I mean is that from November to March I sell mostly to not-for-profits looking to replace old units and have money left in budget that needs to be spent so they take bids on new vans.   Then in June through October I get the shuttle van customer and the what we call the dollar van guy looking for a new vehicle. Only the dollar van guy wants a 2007 to 2010 with less than 40,000 miles and wants to pay little or nothing. By that I mean they want to pay 10,000 to 12,000 for something that costs me more and is worth somewhere between 17,900 and 23,000.  Not to mention the Churches who have been using the same dodge van or old ford or Chevy for the last 15 to 10 years that needs replacement.  

It gets very frustrating because you can help most of them but only if they will work with you. Now some do let you and they get a van. Not just get it, but it is something that fits the budget and meets the need.  Only because I was given time to either locate it or factory order the vehicle for them.  

If people would give me a chance I can help them into the vehicle that they need. But the system only works when we can  sit down talk and listen.  We rely too much sometimes on what we see on-line and the fact that we can go somewhere else. But half the time one of three things happen:  

  1. you end up driving all over spending valuable time to get the same vehicle I was willing to get for you.
  2. you find nothing but still will not allow someone to just order one for the church, business and or not for profit. Because you cannot wait, yet you have been looking and no one has gotten back to you.
  3. you buy something totally wrong for you just because you had to have it then and now.

When if you did  better planning and gave yourself a month or two lead way you would have the vehicle when you are ready for it. I try to explain this to the shuttle owners who are the worst with trying to find a van.  Especially those that need to then turn around and redo the paint job.  Something that if they sat down with one or two dealers they could end up saving a lot of money with a factory ordered vehicle painted the color they need because their business is registered correctly with Ford and it’s vehicle conversion companies or the dealer.   

At the very least if you concentrate all your business to one or two dealers in the area that you like you will then always be able to find a van because they will stock them more often in both new and used. Dealers go with what they move the most of in a month every month. so I would need to show them that I have the commercial and private business to move more new and used  passenger vans.  

But it takes time to build that kind of business. It takes people giving me the orders and people trusting that I will come through. Something I always do if it is a realistic request.  Trust goes both ways though I am or will be trusting the client to come back always for more vans as needed, and they are turning one every year, so it is to my benefit to have them .  But right now we only see the seasonal business. I am trying hard to create the more constant but If you  the clients want to come in and demand a new van with in two weeks right at the turn of old model year to new then guess what is not going to happen.  And the funny thing about it all is that you know they are not available because you have been driving all over. Wasting precious time and money to find the elusive van that you need because they are all gone. 

So the Idea I am trying to convey here is this; If you happen to be one of the many owner operators of a shuttle van for super shuttle, golden touch, air link and so on then I am the man for you. But only if you give me the opportunity to work for you the right way. I can save you money when you let me show you the right way. Just do a little pre planning and make a connection the right way you will always have a van. And guess what will happen the pricing gets nice too! Because now you are dealing with someone who knows you and your business. So when you are doing the constant shopping for price think about the time and energy put in to save the 500 to 1000 dollars if you get lucky and find what you need, is worth the aggravation. Or is picking up a phone and calling in and saying I will be needing another van soon order me one please.

About courtney-commercial

COMMERCIAL SALES REPRESENTATIVE FOR THE MAJOR /CITY WORLD AUTO GROUP HERE IN NEW YORK CITY, SERVICING THE ENTIRE TRI-STATE AREA. BASED IN LONG ISLAND CITY. I HANDLE ALL THE AMERICAN BRANDS(FORD,LINCOLN, CHEVY, DODGE, JEEP, CHRYSLER) PLUS, TOYOTA, HYUNDAI INCLUDING HANDICAPPED ACCESSIBLE. I HAVE BEEN IN THE BUSINESS FOR OVER 25 YEARS LAST 16 IN COMMERCIAL SALES.
This entry was posted in BUSINESS, DO YOU LIKE TRUCKS OR CARS ?, FLEET, FORD, TRUCKS, VANS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SO YOU NEED A 15 PASSENGER VAN

  1. Well the situation has changed even more in New York with these vans. Now you need a CDL License to drive a passenger vehicle over 14 passengers. Now a lot of Insurance company’s will not even consider insuring the vehicle for certain groups and businesses. You have to worry about how to pay for them even more now because few banks will lease them as well.
    I guess what I am trying to say is when looking for a van passenger especially really consider the size and the people that will be riding. Law enforcement is getting very serious about who is riding and how in these vans. They say not for school bus use for a reason.

Leave a Reply

