Me a Manager 

Well you saw my previous post THE ALL NEW MAJOR FLEET AND LEASING – WWW.MAJORCFL.COM. 

  Here is the update to that post, now that store has a new manager and his name is COURTNEYCOMMERCIAL . YES I was made the manager of this store and department. I have 2 great retail guys , who have taken the leap of faith over to the commercial, fleet side of the business.  Boy what a change from managing yourself to a department is a big deal, especially when you were not really looking in that direction. 

A lot has changed with this store opening and taking this position on now. For instance I am dealing a lot more with used inventory and I am now working  with many more banks on financing  and I have to work my guys deals as well as anything  I control. Oh yes I kept my 2 best and biggest accounts under my control. Slowly introducing  the guys to the other accounts as time goes on.  Man it is a lot but I kind get a vibe I haven’t felt in a while, you know if your a self driver what I mean. It is like an all new rush or challenge that you get the feeling no one expected you to be able to handle. It is rough but I am getting it atleasr I believe I am.  I was given 30 days to prove I can do it for the most part and here we are entering 60 day period. So I guess I am either doing something right or they are just waiting till they can find someone better.  But quite honestly I believe they have the right guy/gal in me.  

I have young guys who are a great help with using technology to sell us and the product and who and where we are. I on the other hand have been able to start delegating  business leads and work load for bids and quotes. Now I have to get into the internal struggles more  to be sure we are getting the right leads to our department and making sure they are handled properly.  

Our first month with me and the original head of the new store we did about 8 deals . When we  went into the 2nd month of being open  we did about  the same but I was made manager and he went to independent sales outside. This month past he did about 5 deals and the store under my direction did a total of 12 deals  1brokered 11 out of all our stores.  Traffic is growing  on people coming in looking for units. But my calling are not where they  should be. Still have to learn about co-op monies and some internal policies  I never had to worry about before. 

 The hours are longer and  I still have to figure out time for keeping up with certifications  at 3 brands and  responsibilities I have outside of the dealership as well. It is all starting to fall in to place so I think i am good right now. As awareness grows and the word gets out I believe  I will have one hell of a store that I  will be a dam good Manager too as well.
 

About courtney-commercial

COMMERCIAL SALES MANAGER FOR AN AUTO GROUP HERE IN NEW YORK CITY, SERVICING THE ENTIRE TRI-STATE AREA. BASED IN JAMAICA. I HANDLE ALL THE AMERICAN BRANDS(FORD,LINCOLN, CHEVY, DODGE, JEEP, CHRYSLER) PLUS, TOYOTA, MAZDA INCLUDING HANDICAPPED ACCESSIBLE. I HAVE BEEN IN THE BUSINESS FOR OVER 28 YEARS LAST 19 IN COMMERCIAL SALES.
This entry was posted in AUTO, blackbusiness, BUSINESS, BUSINESS SOLUTIONS, CARS, CHEVY, COMMERCIAL BUSINESS, commercial car and truck sales, DIESEL, DO YOU LIKE TRUCKS OR CARS ?, DODGE, DOING BUSINESS, DRIVE, FLEET, FORD, GM, MANAGEMENT, NYC SMALL BUSINESS, organizations, RATINGS, SALES, TOYOTA, TRANSIT, transportation, TRUCKS, VANS, WORK and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

