A NEW ROAD IN THIS MAN’S CAREER!

MY MUG SHOT

I have worked now for the same Auto Groups in NYC for the last 14 years.  I have had my ups and downs with them over the years. The people with in these groups have taught me and mentored me to become a successful and decent commercial/fleet salesperson and as of late a semi Knowledgeable manager for a commercial division of a dealership brand or auto group.  So much so that I had an opportunity to build such a thing for the group with the understanding of having the time to see it through.  A job that can take from 1-3 years depending on how much support is actually given by the Auto group’s senior management in creating the division.

It was the opportunity of a life time something I thought I was not interested in trying to do until it was thrust in to my lap. I attacked with what I knew and the help of my Teachers, mentors and the commercial community to create what should have and was on the way to becoming the most well-known place to come to for any type of commercial vehicle up to 19,500 gvw. I had the ability to help anyone get in to any vehicle from 9 different brands.  4(four) of which are the most sought after in the Country.  But they instead chose to open it all up to their used car departments and retail stores and so destroyed the momentum and the potential for great things and a lot of money to be made.

But the old saying seems to be true “when one door closes another will open for you”.  If your good at what your do and people recognize you for your work and accomplishments you will advance.  I believe that is what has happened to me with in the last few months. My reputation and my work has taken notice in the community both through word of mouth and LinkedIn and some other social media platforms. There by causing me to answer several different request for resumes and interviews for possible open positions. All things over the last 2 years I had ignored or walked away from until now.

Now I decided to listen a little more closely and shop my worth so to speak. and found out that I am a desirable asset to the right places. It felt kind of good to have people interested in you and contacting you for your work history and resume or because friends and colleagues say this is the guy you need to speak too.

After careful consideration I made a decision to go with an Auto group here in NYC although I was approached from as far away as Ohio and Georgia.  So I tendered my resignation effective this Friday  (7/28/2017) to my current employers and to date there has been no contact. something that has helped me get over being nervous about this whole thing and if this was what I needed to do?  Mind you my wife felt 2 years ago it was time.  So in 7  days I will be sitting in a new showroom for Commercial business with a new dealership.  I will be contacting all that I know then to let them know just how to reach me and will be getting to work to become number 1 in the NYC area for Commercial/fleet vehicles.

About courtney-commercial

COMMERCIAL SALES MANAGER FOR AN AUTO GROUP HERE IN NEW YORK CITY, SERVICING THE ENTIRE TRI-STATE AREA. BASED IN JAMAICA. I HANDLE ALL THE AMERICAN BRANDS(FORD,LINCOLN, CHEVY, DODGE, JEEP, CHRYSLER) PLUS, TOYOTA, MAZDA INCLUDING HANDICAPPED ACCESSIBLE. I HAVE BEEN IN THE BUSINESS FOR OVER 28 YEARS LAST 19 IN COMMERCIAL SALES.
This entry was posted in blackbusiness, blackwoman, BUSINESS, BUSINESS DEALS, BUSINESS SOLUTIONS, buyers, COMMERCIAL BUSINESS, commercial car and truck sales, DOING BUSINESS, FLEET, FORD, GOVERNMENT, MANAGEMENT, NYC SMALL BUSINESS, organizations, SALES, transportation, WORK and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

